Best answer: What are the main features of the Indian subcontinent?

The Indian subcontinent has three physiographic components: the Himalayas in the north, the Indo-Gangetic Alluvial Plain in the middle and the Peninsula of Precambrian rocks with younger cover in the south.

What are the major geographical features of the Indian subcontinent?

The subcontinent has three main geographic regions: the Northern Mountain Rim, the Northern Plains, and the Deccan Plateau. The Northern Plains include the Ganges and Indus rivers. They form deltas where they empty into the sea. During floods, sediment from the Ganges River is deposited on the plains.

What are the four main physical features of the Indian subcontinent?

From cold mountains to arid deserts, vast plains, hot and humid plateau and wide sea shores and tropical islands, the physical features of India cover every terrain.

What is the main idea of the Indian subcontinent?

Main Idea 1: Many different ethnic groups and religions influence the culture of India’s neighbors. Five countries share the subcontinent with India: Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, and Sri Lanka.

What are the characteristics of subcontinent?

a large, relatively self-contained landmass forming a subdivision of a continent: the subcontinent of India. a large landmass, as Greenland, that is smaller than any of the usually recognized continents.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Where is the first school in India?

What are the 5 physical features of India?

Physical features of india

  • The Himalayan Mountains. These mountain ranges run in a west-east direction from the Indus to the Brahmaputra. …
  • The Northern Plains. …
  • The Peninsular Plateau. …
  • The Indian Desert. …
  • The Coastal Plains. …
  • The Islands.

What are the major physical feature of India?

In fact, our country has practically all major physical features of the earth, i.e., mountains, plains, deserts, plateaus and islands. The land of India displays great physical variation. Geologically, the Peninsular Plateau constitutes one of the ancient landmasses on the earth’s surface.

Why India has different physical features?

India is a large landmass formed during different geological periods which has influenced her relief. Besides geological formations, a number of processes such as weathering, erosion and deposition have created and modified the relief to its present form. each other and form transform boundary.

Which countries make the Indian subcontinent Class 9?

Countries which make the Indian subcontinent are Pakistan in the north-west, India at the core, Nepal in the north, Bhutan in the north-east and Bangladesh in the east. Tropic of Cancer passes through the states of Gujarat, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, West Bengal, Tripura and Mizoram.

Why is India called a subcontinent short answer?

India is a subcontinent located in South of Asian continent. It is considered a subcontinent because it covers an expansive area of land that includes the Himalayan region in the north, the Gangetic Plain as well as the plateau region in the south.

Is Pakistan part of Indian subcontinent?

The Indian subcontinent is a vast area the size of Europe, and is today divided into the separate countries of India, Pakistan and Bangladesh.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: Can India defend against nukes?