How many municipal corporations are there in Delhi?

Municipal Corporation of Delhi
Type Local Authority of the Delhi
Seats 372 (Now trifurcated into North, South and East) 104 (North) 104 (South) 64 (East)
Political groups Bharatiya Janata Party (181) Aam Aadmi Party (49) Indian National Congress (31)

Who is the head of Municipal Corporation of Delhi?

It is governed by a council headed by a chairperson, who is usually a career civil servant and holds the rank of Joint Secretary to Government of India appointed by Government of India. The council also includes the Chief Minister of Delhi as an Ex officio member.

Who controls MCD in Delhi?

The Government of India is nearly the sole landowner and also owns about eighty percent of the buildings in the New Delhi Municipal Council area. Private ownership of property in this area.

How many ULBS are in Delhi?

Delhi’s local government is made up of five urban local bodies: the New Delhi Municipal Council (NDMC), the Delhi Cantonment Board (DCB), the North Delhi Municipal Corporation, the South Delhi Municipal Corporation, and the East Delhi Municipal Corporation.

Who is the mayor of Delhi?

Mira Aggarwal (born 15 May 1961) is an Indian politician of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). She is the first Mayor of newly constituted North Delhi Municipal Corporation.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Where can I watch T20 India vs England for free?
Mira Aggarwal
Personal details
Born 15 May 1961 Delhi, India
Political party Bharatiya Janata Party (1990–present)
Spouse(s) Dr. Anil Aggarwal

Who is ruling Delhi now?

Arvind Kejriwal of Aam Aadmi Party is the incumbent chief minister of Delhi since 14 February 2015.

How Delhi is governed?

Central government

This state government is called the Government of the National Capital Territory of Delhi (Government of NCT of Delhi or simply Government of Delhi). It consists of an executive, led by the Lieutenant Governor of Delhi, a judiciary and a legislature.

Is MCD office open on Saturday?

Offering a last chance to taxpayers to settle their outstanding property tax dues under its ongoing amnesty scheme, the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) has decided to keep its offices open during normal office hours on Saturday and Sunday. …

Who is responsible for MCD salary?

The BJP maintains the Delhi government is withholding funds it is bound to pay the three MCDs, which is why salaries have been delayed.

What is 74th Amendment Act?

The constitution 74th Amendment Act 1992, relating to Municipalities (Urban local Government) was passed by the parliament in 1992. … The Act seeks to provide a common framework for the structure and mandate of urban local bodies to enable them to function as effective democratic units of local Self Government.

What is full form of MCD?

Official website. Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) was the former municipal corporation that governed 8 of the 11 districts of the state of Delhi, India.