What are the main parts of Chennai?

The city is divided on the basis of composition into four major parts: North, Central, South and West. North Chennai is primarily an industrial area while some areas are residential. Central Chennai is the commercial heart of the city and the downtown area.

What are the main areas in Chennai?

Most popular areas in Chennai

  • South Chennai. Area in Chennai. …
  • Central Chennai. Area in Chennai. …
  • Egmore. Area in Chennai. …
  • West Chennai. Area in Chennai. …
  • Anna Nagar. Area in Chennai. …
  • Kottivakkam. Area in Chennai. …
  • Mount Road. Area in Chennai. …
  • Royapettah. Area in Chennai.

How many Nagar are there in Chennai?

A total of nine municipalities merged into the city: Alandur, Ambattur, Kattivakkam, Madhavaram, Maduravoyal, Manali, Tiruvottiyur, Ullagaram-Puzhuthivakkam and Valasaravakkam.


No. 8
Zone Anna Nagar
Ward(s) 94–108
Assembly constituency Anna Nagar/Villivakkam/Egmore
Taluk Ayanavaram/Aminjikarai

Which areas are south Chennai?

The South Chennai zone, with its head office at Guindy division was comprises Guindy, Mylapore, Mylapore, Tambaram, Alandur and Sholinganallur taluks.

Which is the richest area in Chennai?

Interestingly, you can also notice that these areas / localities are also the best places in Chennai to settle down.

  1. Boats Club Road. Boats club seems to be the preferred location for millionaires in Chennai. …
  2. Santhome. …
  3. Anna Nagar. …
  4. Mylapore. …
  5. Nungambakkam. …
  6. Adyar. …
  7. Besant Nagar. …
  8. Thiruvanmiyur.
THIS IS INTERESTING:  What is the rate of Abu Dhabi Currency in India?

Which month is hottest in Chennai?

Chennai has dry periods in February, March and April. The warmest month is May with an average maximum temperature of 37°C (98°F). The coldest month is January with an average maximum temperature of 29°C (84°F). November is the most wet month.

Which is the biggest area in Chennai?

The city is coterminous with Chennai district, which together with the adjoining suburbs constitutes the Chennai Metropolitan Area, the 36th-largest urban area in the world by population.


Chennai Madras
• Mayor Vacant
• Megacity 426 km2 (164.5 sq mi)
• Metro (Chennai metropolitan area) 1,189 km2 (459.07 sq mi)

How Chennai is divided?

Chennai is divided into four broad regions: North, Central, South and West. North Chennai is primarily an industrial area. Central Chennai is the commercial heart of the city and includes important business district, Parry’s Corner.

Which area is the Centre of Chennai?

The Central Chennai zone, with its head office at Ambattur, was included Ayanavaram, Aminjikarai, Maduravoyal, guindy and Egmore taluks. Mambalam is commonly called as one of the oldest village near Chennai.

Which area comes under Chennai West?

Chennai neighbourhood coordintes

Area Location Latitude
Anna Nagar West Chennai 13.085
Annanur West Chennai 13.1184
Arumbakkam West Chennai 13.0724
Ashok Nagar West Chennai 13.0373

Which part of Chennai is T Nagar?

It is surrounded by Nungambakkam in the North, Teynampet in the East, Nandanam in the South-East, C.I.T. Nagar (a part of Greater Nandanam region) in the South and West Mambalam and Kodambakkam in the West.

T. Nagar.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What is a subcontinent name the countries of the Indian subcontinent?
Thyagaraya Nagar
Assembly constituency Thiyagaraya Nagar

Is royapettah Chennai North or South?

Royapettah is located at the central part of the city of Chennai, with an elevation of 9 m (29 ft.) above mean sea level. The neighbourhood comes under Teynampet Zone (number 9) and ward number 118 (old number 112) of the Chennai Corporation.

Is Anna Nagar Chennai North or South?

Anna Nagar is located in north-west Chennai and is one of the most well-laid neighbourhoods in Tamil Nadu.