What are the two era used in India?

The other is called Saka Era of 78 CE, or simply Saka Era, a system that is common in epigraphic evidence from southern India. A parallel northern India system is the Vikrama Era, which is used by the Vikrami calendar linked to Vikramaditya.

Which are the 2 eras used in India?

‘Shalivahan Shaka’ and ‘Vikram Samvat’ are two eras that are used in .

Which era is used in India?

Learn about this topic in these articles:

The Śaka, or Salivāhana, era (ad 78), now used throughout India, is the most important of all. It has been used not only in many Indian inscriptions but also in ancient Sanskrit inscriptions in Indochina and Indonesia.

Which is oldest Indian era?

Indus Valley Civilisation

The Bronze Age in the Indian subcontinent began around 3300 BCE. Along with Ancient Egypt and Mesopotamia, the Indus valley region was one of three early cradles of civilization of the Old World.

What are the different era?

One of the ways history is commonly divided is into three separate eras or periods: the Ancient Period (3600 BC – 500 AD), the Middle Ages (500 -1500), and the Modern Era (1500-present). … The Progressive Era (which took place in the late 19th/early 20th century – an American movement marked by social reform)

Which is the first month of Saka Era?

It started from the year 78 A.D. The national calendar is based on the Saka Era. Its first month is Chaitra. It starts from 22 March 1957 along with the Gregorian calendar for the following official purposes: Gazette of India. News broadcast by All India Radio.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: Where should we walk on the road in India?