What is a subcontinent name the countries of the Indian subcontinent?

The Indian subcontinent, consisting variably of India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, and the Maldives, with over 1.7 billion people, is the largest such entity in the world.

What is a subcontinent and name the countries forming the Indian subcontinent?

A subcontinent is part of a larger continent, made up of a number of countries that form a large mass of land. The countries forming the Indian Subcontinent are Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, and Bhutan.

What is Indian subcontinent Class 9?

– India is sometimes referred to as a subcontinent because it is a separate landmass, not just a country. … COUNTRIES THAT FORM CONTINENT OF INDIAN SUB: Bhutan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Maldives, Sri Lanka.

What is subcontinent name the subcontinent?

Indian subcontinent constitutes SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation)countries that are India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka & Maldives. This group of countries are combined together to be called Indian subcontinent as once in the History, they were a part of India.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  You asked: Is the Indian scout Sixty fast?

What is a subcontinent name the countries of the Indian subcontinent Class 9?

Geopolitics. In terms of modern geopolitical boundaries, the Indian subcontinent constitutes India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, and Bhutan, besides, by convention, the island nation of Sri Lanka and other islands of the Indian Ocean, such as the Maldives.

Why India is called a subcontinent?

India is a subcontinent located in South of Asian continent. It is considered a subcontinent because it covers an expansive area of land that includes the Himalayan region in the north, the Gangetic Plain as well as the plateau region in the south.

Do you justify Indian Ocean named after India?

Complete answer:

The Indian Ocean is named after India because of its strategic location at the head of the ocean from ancient times and its long coastline which is longer than any other country in the Indian Ocean rim.

Who are the neighbors of India?

The nine neighbouring countries of India are – Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

What is a subcontinent Class 8?

Hint: Subcontinent is a part of the continent which has a distinct geographical and political entity. It has a small landmass as compared to the continent. The Indian subcontinent is located in the southern part of Asia which is located on the Indian plate.

What is subcontinent give example?

A large and distinct section of a continent can be called a subcontinent. Many subcontinents are separated from the rest of a continent by geographical features. One of the most well-known subcontinents is the Indian subcontinent, which was once the country of India, but today includes Pakistan and Bangladesh.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What challenges did victory in the French and Indian War bring for the British?

Why is South Asia called a subcontinent Class 6?

Why is South Asia called a subcontinent? Answer: South Asia is called a subcontinent because, although it is smaller than a continent, it is very large and is separated from the rest of Asia by seas, hills and mountains.

How is India different from other countries?

India is the world’s largest democracy, with a 1.3 billion population. It is also the world’s second largest country, after China’s 1.4 billion population. … The country is one of the most diverse cultures on the planet with various regions corresponding to different languages and customs.

How is India different from other countries in Asia?

India is the biggest democratic country.it consists of myraid varities of culture,customs,traditions,whereas it can’t be seen in other countries of asia. it is also called as “Indian sub continent”.

How many countries are bigger than India in area?

Complete Step by Step Solution:The countries which are larger than India are Russia, Canada, the United States, China, Brazil, and Australia. – Russia is a transcontinental country located in Europe and Asia and is the largest country in the world by area. It has an area of 17,098246 sq.