Who decides the language policy of India?

The three language formula is a policy that was formulated by the Education Ministry of the Indian government in the 1968 National Policy Resolution.

What is the language policy of India?

There is no national language in India. However, article 343(1) of the Indian constitution specifically mentions that, “The official language of the Union shall be Hindi in Devanagari script. The form of numerals to be used for the official purposes of the Union shall be the international form of Indian numerals.”

What is the language policy followed by the government?

The leaders of our country adopted a very cautious attitude while forming the language policy. Hindi,which is spoken by about 40% of our population,was declared as the official language. Many languages were also recognised as Scheduled Languages by the Constitution. Apart from Hindi, there are 21 scheduled languages.

Who declared English as official language in India?

Since the people who spoke Dravidian languages were more confident in English than they were in the most spoken language in India, i.e. It’s Hindi. To establish that in 1963 the Official Language Act was passed, which enabled English to continue as an official language.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Question: Which is the biggest industry in India during 19th century?

Which is the oldest language in India?

Sanskrit (5000 years old)

Sanskrit is a widely spoken language in India. Almost all the ancient manuscripts of Hindusim, Jainism and Buddhism were written in this language.

What are the four characteristics of language policy of India?

Hindi is an official language but 21 other languages are recognised as scheduled languages in the Indian Constitution. 2. Every state is free to promote its language and culture. Any candidate sitting for an exam of Central Government can write in any of the prescribed languages.

Why India setup a languages policy?

To conclude we can say the language policy in India is mainly dependent on the Official Language Act, 1963. The Kothari Commission formulated the language policies with the objective of unifying the country’s diverse cultures and dialects via a common ‘official’ language, which, at that point, was Hindi.

What is meant by language policy?

This refers to what a government does either officially through legislation, court decisions or policy to determine how languages are used, cultivate language skills needed to meet national priorities or to establish the rights of individuals or groups to use and maintain languages.

What is the language policy followed by the government class 10?

(ii) Language Policy : The Indian Constitution did not give the status of national language to any one of the languages. Though Hindi was identified as the optional language, but the central government has not imposed Hindi on states where people speak a different language.

Why India has no national language?

As per the Constitution of India, there is no National Language of India. After independence, the Constitution makers had a problem of selecting a national language which can unite a country because there were more than 1,600 languages spoken in different parts of the country.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Where was the British East India Company located?