Who has residuary powers in India?

The Parliament – The supreme law making body of India, headed by the President of India holds the residuary powers. It means that the Parliament is powered to legislate on the matters that are excluded in the list of State and Union and also the Concurrent ones.

Which level of government has residuary powers?

The constitution also vests the residuary powers (the enumerated in any of the three Lists) with the Central Government. It must be noted that in this distribution of powers the Union Government has certainly been given a favoured treatment.

What are the residuary power?

Residuary Powers are special powers entrusted by the Constitution, to the Union Government. The Parliament has powers to make any law with respect to any matter which is not a part of the Concurrent List or State List.

What are residuary subjects?

Residuary subjects are those which had not originated during the formation of the Indian Constitution. Example: – Programming, e-commerce, internet, hardware, software, etc. It is the correct option. Option C. Commerce is an example of the Union list.

What has been banned in Indian Constitution?

Article 48 of the Constitution of India is one of the Directive Principles which directs the state to make efforts for banning animal slaughtering of cows and calves and other milch and draught cattle.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What was the impact of British land revenue policies on Indian farmers?

Who Cannot sue a state?

The Eleventh Amendment prevents federal courts from exercising jurisdiction over state defendants–the federal court will not even hear the case if a state is the defendant. A state may not be sued in federal court by its own citizen or a citizen of another state, unless the state consents to jurisdiction.

What are denied powers?

Denied powers are powers denied to nation and state government branches to maintain balance and fairness.

What is the highest level of government in India called?

The Supreme Court is the highest judicial forum and final court of appeal under the Constitution of India, the highest constitutional court, with the power of constitutional review.

What are the seven key features of federalism?


  • There are two or more levels (or tiers) of government.
  • Different tiers of government govern the same citizens, but each tier has its own jurisdictionin specific matters of legislation, taxation and administration.