You asked: How many high courts are there in India in 2019?

There are 25 High Courts in India. The Calcutta High Court, established in 1862, is the oldest High Court in India. The Bombay and Madras High Courts were also established in the same year. The newest High Courts are the Telangana Court and Andhra Pradesh High Court, both established in the year 2019.

Which is the 25th High Court in India?

High courts

Sl No Court Principal seat
22 Sikkim High Court Gangtok
23 Telangana High Court Hyderabad
24 Tripura High Court Agartala
25 Uttarakhand High Court Nainital

How many supreme courts are there in India in 2020?

As the work of the Court increased and cases began to accumulate, Parliament increased the number of judges (including the Chief Justice) from the original 8 in 1950 to 11 in 1956, 14 in 1960, 18 in 1978, 26 in 1986, 31 in 2009, to 34 in 2019.

How many high courts are there in India currently Class 8?

As of now, we have 21 high courts in the nation, which incorporates 3 common high courts i.e. shared by two or more states. Each high court comprises a Chief Justice and various adjudicators or judges, who are determined by the President occasionally.

How many high courts are there in India in 2021?

List of High Courts in India 2021: How many High Courts in India. In India there are 25 high courts at present. According to the 214, in India there should be a separate high court for each state. The high court is said to be the supreme judicial body in a state.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What is the national religion of India?