Best answer: What are the clauses of Indian Independence Act?

Rest of the territories were to be included in India. The British Government was to have no control over the affairs of the dominions after August 15, 1947 and world transfer all powers to the Assemblies of India and Pakistan.

When was the Indian Independence Act passed what was the clause in regards to division and sharing of assets?

India would be partitioned and two independent Dominions — India and Pakistan — would be created from August 15, 1947. The Act provided the legislative supremacy of both the Dominions. Pakistan would comprise Sindh, British Baluchistan, North West Frontier Province, the West Punjab and East Bengal.

What was the main provision of the Mountbatten Plan?

Provisions of the Mountbatten Plan

British India was to be partitioned into two dominions – India and Pakistan. The constitution framed by the Constituent Assembly would not be applicable to the Muslim-majority areas (as these would become Pakistan).

Is India on lease for 99 years?

India is on lease for 99 years.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Your question: What bike was the worlds fastest indian?

Who is responsible for partition of India?

Markandey Katju views the British as bearing responsibility for the partition of India; he regards Jinnah as a British agent who advocated for the creation of Pakistan in order “to satisfy his ambition to become the ‘Quaid-e-Azam’, regardless of the suffering his actions caused to both Hindus and Muslims.” Katju …

What happens after 99 years lease India?

The owner of the land can convert the property into the freehold property after the 99 years lease agreement expires, for which he has to pay certain duties and charges. The value of the leased property usually falls when the 99 years lease expires.

Why is a 99 year lease not 100?

The development authority of a particular area provides land development rights to developers and sells properties for a lease of 99 years. This means that anyone who purchases a residential or commercial property will own it only for a period of 99 years, after which the ownership is given back to the landowner.

Is India still under Queen?

The monarchy was abolished on 26 January 1950, when India adopted a new constitution and became a republic within the Commonwealth, the first Commonwealth country to do so.

Who was the best Viceroy of India?

Top 15 British Viceroys of India

  • Viceroy # 1. Lord Canning as First Viceroy, (1858-62):
  • Viceroy # 2. Lord Elgin (1862-63):
  • Viceroy # 3. Sir John Lawrence, (1864-69):
  • Viceroy # 4. Lord Mayo, (1869-72):
  • Viceroy # 5. Lord Northbrook, (1872-76):
  • Viceroy # 6. Lord Lytton, (1876-80):
  • Viceroy # 7. …
  • Viceroy # 8.

What is difference between Viceroy and Governor-General?

The post of Governor-General of India and Viceroy was preceded by Governor of Bengal. When the East India Company came to India, it controlled Bengal through the post of Governor of Bengal.

Difference between Viceroy and Governor-General.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What is the season in Bangalore now?
Aspect Governor-General of India Viceroy of India
Duration of Post 1833-1858 1858-1948

Who was the second Viceroy of India?

Viceroys in India from 1858 to 1947

Viceroy Tenure
Lord Minto II 1905 – 1910
Lord Hardinge II 1910 – 1916
Lord Chelmsford 1916 – 1921
Lord Reading 1921 – 1926