Frequent question: How many types of license are there in India?

License Class Vehicle Type
LMV Light motor vehicles including motorcars, jeeps, taxis, delivery vans
HMV Heavy Motor Vehicles
HGMV Heavy Goods Motor Vehicle
HPMV/HTV Heavy passenger motor vehicle/Heavy transport vehicle

How many types of Licence are there in India?

There are four different types of driving licence in India, which any adult citizen can apply for, as per the individual requirements.

How many types of license are there?

Driving Licence Categories and Class of Vehicles in India

Licence Class Vehicle Type
MC 50cc Vehicles that have an engine capacity of 50cc or less than that.
LMV-NT Vehicles like jeep and motor cars fall under the Light Motor Vehicle Category but these are of non-transport class.

What is LMV in driving Licence?

LMV (Light Motor Vehicle) — For cars, jeeps, taxis, delivery vans.

What are the 5 main different types of licenses drivers?

Different Driver’s License Types

  • Class D. Although it may seem odd to jump into the middle of the alphabet to start, a Class D license is the most common type of driver’s license. …
  • Junior License (DJ) …
  • Commercial Driver’s License (Class A, B, and C) …
  • Taxi and Livery (Class E) …
  • Motorcycles.
THIS IS INTERESTING:  How do I write a letter to Indian Embassy for passport renewal?

Can I buy Scooty without license?

No, you do not require a DL to buy a bike or a two-wheeler in India; however, you need a DL to ride the bike on roads as it is a legal requirement in India.

Can I drive Activa at the age of 16?

No, a 16- year old cannot drive an Activa as an Activas engine capacity is between 109.2cc to 124.9cc. A 16- year old can obtain a learning license for a 50cc engine vehicle.

What is the heavy licence?

A person who has completed 20 years of age is allowed to get a heavy licence to drive a transport vehicle. … A learning licence is mandated before you get a commercial vehicle licence. Only after that, when you want a heavy licence, apply in one of the two ways: offline by visiting the nearest RTO or online.

What is the age limit for driving licence?

The current minimum driving age is 18 years, but people are allowed to apply for driving licences at the age of 17 years and six months so they can obtain their licence when they turn 18.

What is licence type?

The most common type of a driver’s license is the Class C non-commercial license. This course will give you the knowledge to obtain a Class C driver’s license that provides you the permit to drive the following types of vehicles: 2-axle vehicle with a GCWR of 26,000 lbs. or less.

Can LMV license drive Innova?

There is no difference between 7 and 8 seater Innova driving license. 1) You will require a Light Motor vehicle with Transport Endorsement on your license for driving a Innova.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Your question: How healthy is South Indian food?

What is full form of LMV?

‘LMV (Light Motor Vehicle)’ — including cars, jeeps, taxis, delivery vans.(16th Apr 2018 GOI Ministry of Road Tran & Highways No.

What is difference between LMV and LMV NT?

What does LMV-NT mean? Light Motor Vehicle – Non Transport (LMV-NT) is a licence category in India. LMV licence is used to drive light motor vehicles such as cars, jeeps, small vans for personal purposes, but not for commercial transportation.

What is class a vehicle?

The following types of vehicles may be driven with a Class A: Tractor-trailer, also known as a semi, big rig or 18-wheeler. Truck and trailer combinations, including double and triple trailers. Tractor trailer buses.