How many states and union territories are in India in 1956?

The States Reorganisation Act was passed in Parliament and implemented from November 1, 1956. As a result of the Act, the country was reorganised into 14 states and six Union Territories.

Which are the states formed in 1956?

The Telangana region, which was then part of Hyderabad state, later merged with Andhra state and formed a complete state of Andhra Pradesh. Tamil Nadu — 1 November 1956 — A part of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka and Kerala were separated from Madras Presidency.

How many states and union territories were there in India in 1950?

The Republic is governed in terms of the Constitution, which was adopted by Constituent Assembly on 26 November 1949 and came into force on 26 January 1950. India comprises 28 States and nine Union Territories.

Which city is converted into Union territory in 1956?

Delhi is the answer its union territory of ourselves.

What are the 28 states and 9 union territories of India?

States and Union Territories

  • Andhra Pradesh(Amaravati)
  • Arunachal Pradesh(Itanagar)
  • Assam(Dispur)
  • Bihar(Patna)
  • Chhattisgarh(Raipur)
  • Goa(Panaji)
  • Gujarat(Gandhinagar)

Which is the first state of India?


State Foundation day Year
Andhra Pradesh Andhra Pradesh Day 1956
Arunachal Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Day 1987
Assam Assam Day 1928
Bihar Bihar Day 1912
THIS IS INTERESTING:  Question: Who is God of football in India?

Which is the 29th state in India?

Telangana was created on 2 June 2014 from ten former districts of north-western Andhra Pradesh.

How many states were there in 1956?

The nine Part A states were Assam, Bihar, Bombay, Madhya Pradesh (formerly Central Provinces and Berar), Madras, Orissa, Punjab (formerly East Punjab), Uttar Pradesh (formerly the United Provinces), and West Bengal.

Who is head of states in India?

The current head of state of India is Ram Nath Kovind, elected in 2017 after being nominated by BJP, the party run by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.