How many tehsils are there in India?

How many tehsils are there in India at present?

Statewise Subdistricts of India

State Subdistrict title Number of sub-districts
Telangana Mandal 452
Tripura Subdivision 38
Uttar Pradesh Tehsil 350
Uttarakhand Tehsil 109

What are tehsils in India?

Tehsil also tahsil is an administrative divisions of India denoting a subdistrict. Tehsils are also referred to as talukas, subdivisions, mandals, circles headed by a Tehsildar or Talukdar or MRO. Tehsils can consist of multiple villages and a few towns.

How many Tehsil are there in one district?

Although they may on occasion share the same area with a subdivision of a revenue division, known as revenue blocks, the two are distinct. For example, Raipur district in Chhattisgarh state is administratively divided into 13 tehsils and 15 revenue blocks.

Which district is biggest in India?

Area of India : 3,287,240 Sq km.*

Largest State Rajasthan 342,239 Sq km
Largest Union Territory Andaman & Nicobar Islands 8,249 Sq km
Smallest Union Territory Lakshadweep 32 Sq km
Largest District Kachchh (Gujarat) 45,652 Sq km
Smallest District Mahe ( Pondicherry ) 9 Sq km

Who is the head of tehsildar?

In the revenue department, the deputy collector (also called Deputy District Collector) is usually a tehsildar who reports to the District Revenue Officer (DRO), who is also called the Additional District Collector and is the overall in-charge of the revenue department for the district.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Question: What is the main reason Aziz decides not to attend the Bridge Party in A Passage to India?

Which state has only 4 district?

List of Districts of India State Wise States and Union Territories in India No. of Districts
19 Orissa 30
20 Punjab 22
21 Rajasthan 33
22 Sikkim 4

Which is the national capital of India?

How India is divided into states?

India is a vast and diverse country, and for administrative reasons it is divided into 28 states and 7 union territories. The states are divided on the basis of languages, and New Delhi is the national capital. Rajasthan is the largest and Goa is the smallest state. States are further divided into districts.