Is Delhi is a state or union territory?

Delhi, officially the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT), is a city and a union territory of India containing New Delhi, the capital of India. It is situated alongside River Yamuna and bordered by Haryana state on three sides and by Uttar Pradesh state to the east.

Is Delhi a state or Union Territory 2019?

Current union territories

Union territory ISO 3166-2:IN UT established
Delhi IN-DL 1 November 1956
Jammu and Kashmir IN-JK 31 October 2019
Ladakh IN-LA 31 October 2019
Lakshadweep IN-LD 1 November 1956

Is Delhi a Union Territory Yes or no?

The States Reorganisation Act, 1956 created the Union Territory of Delhi from its predecessor, the Chief Commissioner’s Province of Delhi. The Constitution (Sixty-ninth Amendment) Act, 1991 declared the Union Territory of Delhi to be formally known as the National Capital Territory of Delhi.

Is Delhi a state or Union Territory 2021?

The newly formed union territories have been formed under a reorganization act passed by the Parliament on 5-6 August 2020. At present India has 8 Union Territories.

Indian Union Territories and Capitals.

Union Territories Names Capital Founded on
Delhi New Delhi 9 May, 1905

Who is the current CM of Delhi?

Arvind Kejriwal (Hindi pronunciation: [əɾʋin̪d̪ ked͡ʒɾiːʋaːl], born 16 August 1968) is an Indian politician and a former bureaucrat who is the current and 7th Chief Minister of Delhi since February 2015.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Who is best hockey player in the India?

Which is the 29th state in India?

Telangana was created on 2 June 2014 from ten former districts of north-western Andhra Pradesh.

What is difference between state and union territory?

A state is a constituent division that has a separate government. States have their own elected government that are vested with the powers to frame the laws. An union territory is a small administrative unit that is ruled by the union. … Union territory is appointed by an administrator who is appointed by the president.

Which are the 9 union territories of India 2021?

Here is the list of 8 Union Territories of India

  • Ladakh (Bifurcated on October 31, 2019) …
  • National Capital Territory of Delhi (Capital Delhi) …
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu. …
  • Pondicherry – Puducherry. …
  • Chandigarh (Also the Capital of Punjab & Haryana) …
  • Andaman & Nicobar – First union territory of India.