Quick Answer: How many seven sisters are there in India?

The Seven Sisters of India refers to the states of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, and Tripura. They are home to some magnificent terrains, exotic flora and fauna, and diverse culture.

What is the population of seven sisters of India?

It comprises eight states – Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura and Sikkim.

Northeast India
• Total 262,179 km2 (101,228 sq mi)
Population (2011 Census of India)
• Total 45,772,188
• Density 173/km2 (450/sq mi)

What is the capital of seven sisters of India?

Seven Sister States

State Capital
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
Assam Dispur
Manipur Imphal
Meghalaya Shillong

Who is the brother of Seven Sisters?

The Seven Sister states are the contiguousstates of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura in northeastern India. And so, neighbour Sikkim is called ” only brother of seven sisters states.

What are the 7 sisters names?

The sisters were Maia, Electra, Alcyone, Taygete, Asterope, Celaeno and Merope. The Pleiades were sometimes said to be nymphs in the train of Artemis.

Which tribe is found in northeast India?

Tangkhul, Kabui, Thado and Hmar are the important tribal communities of Manipur. In Arunachal Pradesh, the largest groups are Galong, Nishi, Wancho and Adi. The tribes of Northeast India living in the hill areas mainly practise jhum (shifting cultivation).

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: Which Jewellery shop is best in India Quora?

What are sister states?

A sister state relationship is a formal declaration of friendship between two regions, states, or nations. Such an agreement is a symbol of mutual goodwill thereby encouraging bilateral cooperation.

Why Sikkim is called Brother?

Sikkim is a landlocked state which shares borders with Nepal, China, Bhutan and West Bengal. Unlike the other seven states in the north-east, which share a contiguous border, Sikkim is some distance away. Therefore, it is called the only brother among seven sisters.