Where is Orissa in India map?

Odisha is located in the eastern part of India with a coastline at the Bay of Bengal. Odisha borders West Bengal in the northeast, Jharkhand in the north, Chhattisgarh in the west and northwest, and Andhra Pradesh in the south and the southeast.

Which part of India is Orissa?

Odisha, formerly called Orissa, state of India. Located in the northeastern part of the country, it is bounded by the states of Jharkhand and West Bengal to the north and northeast, by the Bay of Bengal to the east, and by the states of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana to the south and Chhattisgarh to the west.

Which direction is Odisha situated?

Odisha is located in the eastern part of the Indian peninsula and the Bay of Bengal lies to its East while Chhattisgarh shares its border in the west and north-west. The state also shares geographic boundaries with West Bengal in the north-east, Jharkhand in the north and Andhra Pradesh in the south.

What is Orissa new name?

BHUBANESWAR: Orissa will soon be known as Odisha and the name Oriya language too will be changed from Oriya to Odia with the Union Cabinet on Thursday stamping its approval to the state governments proposal in this regard.

Is Orissa a poor state?

As a result, Orissa ranks very low among the Indian states in terms of per capita income, and it has become one of the poorest states of the country. Large proportion of people in the state have very poor living conditions.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Who is the most popular singer in India today?

Who is the CM of Odisha?

Naveen Patnaik (born 16 October 1946) is an Indian politician serving as the current and 14th Chief Minister of Odisha.

How many languages are there in Odisha?

The State is home to 62 different tribal communities, including 13 particularly vulnerable tribal groups. These tribes speak 21 languages and 74 dialects. Of the 21 tribal languages, seven have their own scripts. However, Odia is used as the medium of communication in the dictionaries.