Who makes laws for union territories in India?

Per Article 240 (2), supreme power is accorded to the president in regulating the affairs of all the union territories except Chandigarh, NCT and Puducherry, including powers to override the laws made by Parliament and the constitution of India.

Who makes the laws for the union territories?

(1) Subject to the provisions of this Act, the Legislative Assembly of 1*[the Union territory] may make laws for the whole or any part of the Union territory with respect to any of the matters enumerated in the State List or the Concurrent List in the Seventh Schedule to the Constitution in so far as any such matter is …

Who controls union territories In India?

17. Under the Constitution, unless otherwise determined by Parliament, the administration of Union Territories vests in the President acting to the extent he deems fit through an Administrator. The President acts on the advice of his Ministers who are responsible to Parliament.

Which is the 29th state in India?

Telangana was created on 2 June 2014 from ten former districts of north-western Andhra Pradesh.

Why Union Territories are made in India?

1- Except for Delhi, Union Territories have less population and land size as compared to a state. Thus, these are too small to be independent and are administered by Union Government (except for Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir and Puducherry).

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Which is the first largest dam in India?

Who is the head of Union Territories?

Lt. Governors & Administrators

Union Territory Lt. Governor & Administrator
Delhi (NCT) Shri Anil Baijal (Lieutenant Governor)
Jammu and Kashmir (UT) Shri Manoj Sinha (Lieutenant Governor)
Lakshadweep (UT) Shri Praful Patel (Administrator)
Puducherry (UT) Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan (Addl. Charge) (Lieutenant Governor)

Is Goa a state or a union territory?

Goa and two other former Portuguese enclaves became the union territory of Goa, Daman and Diu, and Goa was organised into a single district in 1965. On 30 May 1987 Goa attained statehood (while Daman and Diu became a separate union territory), and Goa was reorganised into two districts, North Goa and South Goa.

Which city police is best in India?

The top ten police stations in India include:

  • Gudamba, Lucknow.
  • Dhupguri, Jalpaiguri.
  • K4, Anna Nagar, Chennai.
  • Banbhoolpara, Nainital.
  • Ghiror, Mainpuri.
  • Rishikesh, Dehradun.
  • Valapattanam, Kannur.
  • Kirti Nagar, Delhi.

What is Danic full form?

Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Island Civil Services (DANICS) are the civil services of the Government of India (GoI) for the diverse administrative functions of the National Capital, Delhi and the Union Territories in India.

Which state in India has the largest police force?

Maharashtra has the highest strength actual of Civil Police 1,65,740 accounting for 13.5% of the total civil police in the country followed by Uttar Pradesh 1,11,234 (9.1%).