You asked: Which was the important pillar in the expansion of British rule in India?


What were the pillars of British rule in India?

The British administration in India was based on three pillars: the Civil Service, the Army, and the Police.

Which was the second important pillar of the British administration in India?

The second important pillar of the British regime in India was the army.

What were Indian soldiers in the British army called?

The men of the British Indian Army

The term “Sepoy” was derived from the Persian word sepāhī, meaning “infantry soldier”, and came into use in the forces of the British East India Company in the eighteenth century.

Why did Britain give up India?

1947: Partition of India

During World War Two, the British had mobilised India’s resources for their imperial war effort. They crushed the attempt of Mahatma Gandhi and the Indian National Congress to force them to ‘quit India’ in 1942. … For this reason, Britain was desperate to keep India (and its army) united.

Who came first in India?

ii) Francis de Almeida (1505-1509): He was the 1st Governor General of Portuguese settlement in India. He followed a policy called BLUE WATERFALLS (strengthening the naval power to expel Arabs from Arabian sea and Indian ocean).

European Powers That Came To India.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What is Indian chai?
Europeans Portuguese
Came to India 1498
1st factory Cochin
Year 1500

What are the features of British administration?

Major areas of Indian Administration which have been heavily influenced by the decade’s British rule can be categorized as follows.

  • Parliamentary form of government.
  • Civil Services.
  • District Administration.
  • Local Self Government.
  • Independent Judiciary.
  • Federal form of government.

How did James Mill View the India?

How did James Mill view India? Answer: James Mill did not cherish any positive idea about India. He was of the opinion that all Asian societies were at a lower level of civilisation than Europe. According to his telling of history, before the British came to India, the Hindu and the Muslim despots ruled the country.

Who abolished Dyarchy?

In the provinces, the Act aimed to prepare Indians for ‘responsible government’ through the system of dyarchy. This system of dyarchy was abolished by the Government of India Act (1935, implemented 1937), which gave the provincial assemblies full responsibility for government.

What are the main components of the Indian Parliament?

The Indian Parliament comprises of the President and the two Houses – Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and Lok Sabha (House of the People).

What were the main objectives of British administrative policy in India?

The chief aim of the British was to enable them to exploit India economically to the maximum advantage of various British interests, ranging from the Company to the Lancashire manufacturers. At the same time, India was to be made to bear the full cost of its own conquest as well as of the foreign rule.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Is it cheaper to live in Japan or India?