How many HC are in India?

There are 25 High Courts in India, six having control over more than one State/UT. Delhi has a High Court of its own among the Union Territories. Each High Court shall consist of a Chief Justice and such other judges as appointed by the President of India.

Which is the 25th High Court in India?

High courts

Sl No Court Principal seat
22 Sikkim High Court Gangtok
23 Telangana High Court Hyderabad
24 Tripura High Court Agartala
25 Uttarakhand High Court Nainital

How many judges are there in HC in India?

Maximum strength of judges in each High Court

# High Court Permanent judges
12 Karnataka High Court 47
13 Kerala High Court 35
14 Madhya Pradesh High Court 40
15 Madras High Court 56

How many SC and HC are there in India?

SC Collegium proposed names of nine judges — including 4 HC chief justices, 4 HC judges and 1 senior advocate — in a resolution on 17 August, 22 months after the last recommendation. … With these appointments, the strength of judges in the top court will increase from 24 to 33 with just one vacancy pending.

How many High Court and Supreme Court are there in India?

There are 24 High Courts in the country, three having jurisdiction over more than one State. Among the Union Territories Delhi alone has a High Court of its own.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Why does Chennai receives less rainfall than Kerala?

Who is Supreme Court judge 2020?

Four new judges were appointed to the Supreme Court on Wednesday, taking its strength to 34, the highest-ever. Justices Krishna Murari, SR Bhat, V Ramasubramanian and Hrishikesh Roy were appointed as judges of the top court. The Supreme Court Collegium had recommended their names to the government last month.

What are the 4 types of jurisdiction?

Overview of the Types of Jurisdictions

  • Jurisdiction. …
  • Appellate Jurisdiction. …
  • Subject Matter Jurisdiction. …
  • Personal Jurisdiction. …
  • Diversity Jurisdiction. …
  • Concurrent Jurisdiction. …
  • Exclusive Jurisdiction.