How many linguistic states are there in India?

Which are linguistic states?

It means that the states are divided on the basis of its regional languages. This is because India has many languages. So, for better and apt administration, the regions are divided on the basis of languages.

How many states are formed on the basis of language in India?

On the basis of the State Reorganisation Commission’s (SRC) recommendations, the linguistic reorganisation of 14 States and six Centrally-administered territories were partially completed in 1956, with several other States to be reorganised later on.

What is the language of all 29 states?

List of India State & Union Territory with their Language & Capital

Name of the State Languages Name of the Capital
Karnataka Kannada Bangalore
Kerala Malayalam Trivendrum
Madhya Pradesh {MP} Hindi Bhopal
Maharashtra Marathi Mumbai

Which is the first state of India?


State Foundation day Year
Andhra Pradesh Andhra Pradesh Day 1956
Arunachal Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Day 1987
Assam Assam Day 1928
Bihar Bihar Day 1912

Is a linguistic state?

Linguistic states are the states divided on the basis of language.It is common in a multilingual country like India where diverse languages are spoken.So, for better administration and reduction of the possibility of regional conflicts in future, states in India were carved out on linguistic basis.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What is the problem of India when it comes to food security?

What are the advantages of linguistic states?

The linguistic states were created to ensure that the people who spoke the same language lived in the same state. The advantages are: (i) It has made the country more united. (ii) It has also made administration easier.

Which is the first linguistic of India?

2011 Census India

Language First language speakers Total speakers (millions)
Hindi 528,347,193 692
English 259,678 129
Bengali 97,237,669 107
Marathi 83,026,680 99

Which is the first linguistic state in India?

However, post-independence, the first state to be created on a linguistic basis was Andhra in 1953, created out of the Telugu-speaking northern parts of Madras State..

Which state became a part of India in 1975?

Sikkim became the 22nd State of India Vide Constitution(36th Amendment) Act 1975.

Which is the 29th state in India?

Telangana was created on 2 June 2014 from ten former districts of north-western Andhra Pradesh.