What are the four characteristics of language policy of India?

What are the features of language policy of India?

The language policy of India: No language has been granted the status of a national language by our Constitution. As the official language, Hindi was identified. Just about 40 percent of Indians, however, have Hindi as their mother tongue.

What are the main features of language policy?

(ii) States too have their own official languages. Much of the government’s work takes place in the official language of the concerned state. The Central Government responded by agreeing to continue the use of English along with Hindi for official purposes.

What is India’s language policy?

[4] It provides that in all government schools across India, there shall be three languages to be taught: English, as a mandate; Hindi, too, is compulsory, both in Hindi-speaking states and non-Hindi-speaking states; and finally, the third language is the local language of the region where the school is located.

What is language policy of India Class 10?

(ii) Language Policy : The Indian Constitution did not give the status of national language to any one of the languages. Though Hindi was identified as the optional language, but the central government has not imposed Hindi on states where people speak a different language.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  You asked: When can we wear boots in India?

What is language policy explain?

Language Policy is what a government does either officially through legislation, court decisions or policy to determine how languages are used, cultivate language skills needed to meet national priorities or to establish the rights of individuals or groups to use and maintain languages.

What are the 10 characteristics of language?

10 Main Characteristics of language

  • Language is verbal, vocal: Language is sound. …
  • Language is a means of communication. …
  • Language is a social phenomenon. …
  • Language is arbitrary. …
  • Language is non-instinctive, conventional. …
  • Language is symbolic. …
  • Language is systematic. …
  • Language is unique, creative, complex and modifiable.

What are the 7 functions of language?

Michael Halliday (2003:80) stated a set of seven initial functions, as follows: Regulatory, Interactional, Representational, Personal, Imaginative, Instrumental and Heuristic. The Regulatory Function of language is language used to influence the behavior of others.

What are the 5 characteristics of language?

Five fundamental characteristics of language include cultural relevance, symbolism, flexibility, variation, and social importance.

What are the five features of federalism?

There are two or more levels of government. Different levels of government govern the same citizens, where each level has its own jurisdiction in specific matters of legislation, taxation and administration. Existence and authority of each level of government is constitutionally governed.

What are the key features of federalism?

Key Features of Federalism:

  • There are two or more levels (or tiers) of government.
  • Different tiers of government govern the same citizens, but each tier has its own jurisdiction in specific matters of legislation, taxation and administration.
THIS IS INTERESTING:  Which state has most luxury cars in India?

Which one of the following is not a feature of language policy of India?

Answer:our constitution does not give the status of national language to anyone language. Hindi is the official language of india. Hindi is the mother tongue of about 40 per cent of indians.