What are the main features of Indian Parliament?

What are the four main features of Indian Parliament?


  • Formation of Cabinet. When general election is over and prime minister is elected, then prime minister nominates his council of ministers or cabinet. …
  • Team Work Spirit. In parliamentary system all ministers work in a. …
  • Supremacy of Premier. …
  • Coordination of Powers.

What is the most important feature of Indian Parliament?

These features are mostly prevalent in all countries having Union legislature. But the distinctive and most important feature of Unionlegislature in India is the inclusion of President in Parliament. No law in India can be enacted until President assents to it.

What are the three features of parliament?

Explain any three feature of Parliamentary form of Government

  • Nominal or Titular Head: …
  • Collective Responsibility and Individual Responsibility: …
  • Political Homogeneity: …
  • Harmony between Executive and Legislature: …
  • Rigidity of Party Discipline: …
  • Leadership of the Prime Minister:

What are three major duties of parliament?

Elective functions.

  • Legislative Functions: The Parliament makes laws on all subjects listed in the Union List. …
  • Financial Control: …
  • Providing and exercising control over Cabinet: …
  • Critical Assessment of the Work of the Cabinet: …
  • Role of opposition: …
  • An organ of information: …
  • Constitutional Functions: …
  • Judicial Functions:
THIS IS INTERESTING:  How healthy is Indian food?

What is the name of Indian Parliament?

The Indian Parliament consists of two houses called the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha with the President of India acting as their head.

What is the importance of Parliament for Indian citizens?

Created after 1947, the Indian Parliament is an expression of the faith that the people of India have in principles of democracy. These are participation by people in the decision-making process and government by consent. The Parliament in our system has immense powers because it is the representative of the people.

Who is the head of Parliament?

The Leader of the House serves as the parliamentary chairperson of the majority party in the house.

Leader of the House in Lok Sabha.

Leader of the House in Lok Sabha Lok Sabhā ke Sadana ke Netā
Flag of India
Incumbent Narendra Modi since 26 May 2014
Member of Lok Sabha
Reports to Parliament of India

Is President part of Parliament?

So the President of India is an integral part of the Union Parliament. … Like this Parliament had more power in making the law for the country. The Indian Parliament comprises of President, Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. It has two Houses – Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and Lok Sabha (House of the People).

What are the five key features of Indian Constitution?

The basic structure of the Constitution i.e. its most fundamental features can be described as: Preamble, Fundamental Rights, Directive Principles, Secularism, Federalism, Republicanism, Independence of Judiciary, Rule of Law, and Liberal Democracy.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What began in 1947 when India was granted its independence?

Who has the supreme power in India?

Parliament is the supreme legislative body of India. The Indian Parliament comprises of the President and the two Houses – Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and Lok Sabha (House of the People). The President has the power to summon and prorogue either House of Parliament or to dissolve Lok Sabha.

Is Japan bicameral?

The National Diet (Japanese: 国会, Hepburn: Kokkai) is Japan’s bicameral legislature. It is composed of a lower house, called the House of Representatives (衆議院, Shūgiin), and an upper house, the House of Councillors (参議院, Sangiin). Both houses are directly elected under a parallel voting system.

Who has defined the office of profit?

The term is used in Article 102 (1)(a) of the Indian Constitution which bars a member of the Indian Parliament from holding an office that would give its occupant the opportunity to gain a financial advantage or benefit. It refers to a post under central/state government which yields salaries, perks and other benefits.