What were the administrative divisions under the British rule in India called?

The provinces of India, earlier presidencies of British India and still earlier, presidency towns, were the administrative divisions of British governance in the Indian subcontinent. Collectively, they have been called British India.

What were the major divisions of British India?

The seven Bengal Regulation Districts were named as ‘divisions’ in 1851: Jessore Division, area 14,853 sq mi, population 5,345,472 (1851)

Divisions of Eastern Bengal and Assam

  • Dacca Division.
  • Chittagong Division.
  • Rajshahi Division.
  • Assam Valley Division.
  • Surma Valley and Hill Districts Division.

Was the largest province under the British rule?

The British government began to appoint legislative councils under the Indian Councils Act 1861. The Bengal Legislative Council was established in 1862. It was one of the largest and most important legislative councils in British India.

What made British to leave India?

One reason why the British were reluctant to leave India was that they feared India would erupt into civil war between Muslims and Hindus. … In 1947 the British withdrew from the area and it was partitioned into two independent countries – India (mostly Hindu) and Pakistan (mostly Muslim).

Which were the two main division of the British?

Which were the two main divisions of the British administrative period of dependent India? Answer: The first is from the downfall of the Mughal empire to the Sepoy Mutiny of 1857 and the second is from 1858 to 1947.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: What is the area of 5 rupee coin?

How did British enter India?

The British East India Company came to India as traders in spices, a very important commodity in Europe back then as it was used to preserve meat. Apart from that, they primarily traded in silk, cotton, indigo dye, tea and opium. They landed in the Indian subcontinent on August 24, 1608, at the port of Surat.

Who was the biggest province of British India?

Major provinces

Province of British India Area (in thousands of square miles) Population (in millions of inhabitants)
Burma 170 9
Bengal 151 75
Madras 142 38
Bombay 123 19

Which state of India was not ruled by British?

Apart from Hyderabad, there was one more state that had not acceded to the Indian union by August 15, 1947, the Gujarati state of Junagadh. Junagadh was the most important among the group of Kathiawar states. Here too, the Nawab, Muhammad Mahabat Khanji III ruled over a large Hindu population.